What is ‘Fashion’?


What is fashion, what is my fashion, what fashions are ‘in’ these days?
If you have ever wondered any of those questions, read on!

What is Fashion?

There are many definitions of the term fashion. According to the dictionary it says “The prevailing style or custom, as in dress or behavior: out of fashion.” It also says “Something, such as a garment, that is in the current mode: a swimsuit that is the latest fashion.” Now, lets remember that the dictionary has been around forever (and ever). However, the only real definition of fashion is your own! Teen Vouge claims that “gladiator sandals are a must have!” Don’t think they are? Don’t worry, you have your own ‘fashion sense’!

What ‘Fashions’ are in these days?

Many items are very ‘in’ today, just to rattle off a few:

– Uggs

– tight tee shirts

– messenger Bags

– Skinny Jeans

– reusable water bottles

if you don’t agree, comment below and tell me whether or not. Honestly, the only ‘in’ items are your own.

What is my Fashion?

Well, how do you expect me to answer that? Really? Honestly? I don’t know you, well maybe I do… but still. You only know you! If this doesn’t answer your question, tonight go to your dresser and look though your clothes, make up your own fashion (even if it isn’t a word!)!

Well, as always thanks for reading! I am always adding new posts so come back when you have a chance! Thanks again!

Fashion Avenue

February 11, 2010. Tags: , , . Fashion News.

5 Comments

  1. Ashley B. replied:

    Nice blog. I really like it. I like how you explained the perfect outfit. I really like it. 🙂

  2. Mr. H replied:

    Ali,

    My “fashion sense” is grunge. In the early nineties bands like Pearl Jam, Nirvana, Soundgarden got popular. You know how much I love Pear Jam. I’m also a fan of the other two.

    Anyway, prior to them “hair metal” was popular. Hair metal had it’s own “fashion”: spandex, huge hair (major amounts of hair spray), bandannas, etc. Here’s a link for more info.

    http://www.skooldays.com/categories/fashion/fa2144.htm

    I despised that music, and especially that look. I’d refer to those people as “posers”. I was drawn to grunge because it was the complete opposite of that.

    Grunge fashion was influenced by punk, a fashion/music I respected. Some features of grunge fashion were flannel shirts, ripped jeans, and Doc Marten boots. Here’s another link.

    http://www.skooldays.com/categories/fashion/fa2121.htm

    Thanks for a great post.

  3. Your Mother replied:

    In reply to Mr. H.’s comment: if you ever need an example of “irony”, this is it! Mr. H. is telling you that ‘grunge’ is the opposite of fashion at the time, but it had a fashion all on its own (ripped jeans, flannel shirts etc.). So I guess I’m really commenting on “What is Fashion”? Based on this definition, fashion is an indivualized look that may or may not be popular and trendy. In fact, it may be the oppposite!

  4. mallgirl replied:

    Ashely, thank you for your comment. I try to look in magazines, and online to find out what goes together really well!

  5. mallgirl replied:

    Mr. H, it’s so cool that your fashion sense is grunge! Thank you for more information about your “fashion sense” I look foward to reading tham!
    ~Ali

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

